Year 7 - Introduction to the Old Testament

The Year 7 Religious Studies course takes all of us for a journey through the pages of the Old Testament. We start from the creation of the world from God, the purpose of creation, the sin of humans and through the stories of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, king David and many more we will see God’s power but also His love and care for his beloved creatures. Our basic themes for the year are: Creation, Sin and failure, Noah and the flood, Babel, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob + Esau, Joseph, Moses, Passover, Exodus + living in the desert, the 10 commandments, the Ark of the Covenant, in the promised land, Ruth, Samuel, Saul, David, Solomon, Elijah, In captivity.


Year 8 – Introduction to the Old and New Testament

After being introduced to the world of the Old Testament in the first year of the secondary school, the second year of Religious Studies will reveal to all of us the complete picture of God’s plan. We cover the rest of the Old Testament (Daniel through the Prophets) and we have a quick introduction of the New Testament (The life and teachings of Jesus Christ and the life of the first believers in the Roman world). Our basic themes for Year 8 are: Prophets Jonah, Hosea, Amos, Isaiah, Daniel and his friends, Nehemiah and Ezra. Introduction to the New Testament: John the Baptist, the Christmas story, Jesus baptism. His teachings: Love your enemies, lust, love, the parables. Jesus and people. Jesus the healer. The last hours of Jesus: The passion, crucifixion, resurrection. Pentecost, the first church, Paul. 


Year 9 – Books of wisdom in the Bible + Overview of the New Testament

How should I react when my friends misguide me? Why respect my parents? What is love? How can I use the gifts God has given me? The Bible is not a book written thousands of years ago distant from our realities and having to do only with people that lived then. It can guide our lives today and we will try to discover how with our newly launched Year 9 curriculum. Some of our basic themes for Year 9 are: Review of the book of Proverbs, Ecclesiastes and Psalms. Salvation through faith in the book of Romans and Galatians. Love, Christian Freedom and gifts through 1st Corinthians.


Year 10 and 11 – Edexcel GCSE Syllabus

The Religious Studies course in Years 10 and 11 follows the GCSE syllabus of Edexcel. Check Unit 2 and Unit 16 which are the Units that we cover in Years 10 and 11 in preparing the students to take the GCSE exam in Year 11.


Year 12 and 13

In the Sixth Form we tackle contemporary issues like euthanasia, abortion, human trafficking, death sentence, use of addictive substances. We also have an introduction to the main world religions. Debates, discussions and project presentations are the main tools used in the class.


Ask a Question
1000 characters left

Video Spot English

video spot englisth

Our Academic Excellence

our acedemic excellence